Canadian printing industry veteran Jeff Ekstein inducted into PIA’s Ben Franklin Honor Society

Jeff Ekstein.
Jeff Ekstein.

The Ben Franklin Honor Society of the Printing Industries of America (PIA) formally inducted five industry leaders at its reception and awards ceremony November 13 held in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Ekstein, who has a unique perspective on both the Canadian and American printing industries, is the third-generation President and CEO of the Willow Printing Group, one of Canada’s most successful commercial printers, headquartered in Concord, Ontario. The Society is comprised of industry leaders who have made lasting contributions to advancing print and graphic communications. Potential inductees must render outstanding and/or meritorious service to associations such as the PIA, its affiliates, the Print and Graphics Scholarship Foundation (PGSF), and the industry.

piabfawards1-inEkstein, one of five inductees and the only Canadian, has been an officer on the PIA Board and a member of its executive committee since 2011. He served as the Education Committee Chairman from 2009 to 2011 and currently acts as a finance committee member. He has also judged the Premier Print Awards since 2006. In addition to his involvement in the PIA, he served as Co-Chair of CPISC (Canadian Printing Industries Sector Council) as well as Past Chair, Government Affairs Committee Chair, and as a long-time Director of the CPIA (Canadian Printing Industries Association). In 2007, the CPIA awarded Ekstein the Distinguished Service Award for excellence, achievement, and dedication to the printing industry. Print Action Magazine also named him as one of the Top 20 Most Influential Printers in 2010.

Ekstein volunteers and does fundraising for various charities, including the Heart and Stroke Foundation’s “Ride for Heart” and CCC’s (Crohn’s Colitis Canada) “Gutsy Walk.” In his spare time, Ekstein and his wife Linda enjoy spending time with their three children – Carly, Arlen, and Alexandra. We congratulate Jeff on this well-deserved honour. The four other winners were Thomas Gardner, Jay K. Goldscher, Joseph S. Polanco and Rachel Ann Shattah. For more information about all the recipients, please visit


Tony Curcio is the editor of Graphic Arts Magazine.